The Lunch Time Rush

The clock showed 11:30. Lunch time. I knew I had to hurry, what with only getting an hour to eat, including the ten minute travel time to and back. And it was Tuesday. That place was always hopping on Tuesday’s. I leapt from my chair, grabbed my keys, and headed toward the door. I was in my car in a matter of a minute flat, seat belt on and engine running. Pulling out of the parking lot, I waited at the stop sign.

“Come on, come on.” I tapped the steering wheel, waiting for a break in the traffic. The clock on my radio showed 11:34. I let out a sigh and thought, “I’m going to get stuck in line. Great.” A few more cars passed by and I finally found the gap I was looking for. I put the pedal down and screeched my tires as they jumped off curb onto the road. I cut across two lanes of traffic, gunned my engine, and traveled the hundred or so feet it took me to get to the turning lane. Then I flicked on my blinker and hoped to get across the oncoming vehicles before too long.

Of course, that didn’t happen. Traffic was just totally against me today. That’s when I saw a semi truck began to turn onto the same side street I was going to be using. “Awesome, now I’m going to get stuck behind this guy.” Frustration welled up inside me.

11:38 and I finally got to make my turn, forced to follow the semi as it crawled at a snail’s pace. I drummed my steering wheel with my fingers while I put my other hand on my forehead and breathed out again. The semi turned into a complex and I was free to finish the trek, enter the parking lot and look for a parking space. Of course, at 11:42 none of the spaces up front were available. Forced to search for an empty spot, I grumbled under my breath as I found one a lot farther away than I would have liked.

I threw the truck into the space, slammed it into park, shut it off and headed toward the restaurant, my walk as brisk as my purpose was clear. I smiled at the girl holding the door open for me and got in line, glad to be only two people back, which was such a nice change for being 11:46.

“Finally! My turn to order.” I could already taste the food I was ordering. “Oh, how I look forward to this day every week.” I smiled the thought to myself. Grabbing my drink, I headed to a table and sat down, waiting for them to call out my name and bring me the succulent morsels I would delight upon for lunch.

12:05 and the tray arrived. Not even waiting for the staff member to leave, I took the item into my hand and started to eat. I let out a small moan as the seasoning filled my taste buds with flavor, causing me to stare up to heaven and thank God for creating such a delicacy. I tore into the rest with the same ravenous appetite.

After enjoying every bite of my now gone lunch, I sat back in my chair, satiated. 12:15. With a few minutes left, I decided relax in the afterglow of my feast and picked up my drink, let out a very content sigh, and put the straw to my lips, prepared to take a sip.

That’s when my stomach decided to inform me that my real lunch rush was just about to begin.

Published by

R. Todd

I'm older than I think I am and younger than I feel. I'm stuck in the 80's but relevant to today (oh I hope that last part is true). I think I am more of an enigma than I really am, but somehow still confound those who try to figure me out (or they just look at me weird, so I infer that). And I really hate my first name. Husband, father, Navy Vet, cat owner (translate.. slave), wannabe writer, and all around big kid who is stuck in an adult world. Overall, I just... um.. something to something, blah blah blah. And that's all I got to say about that.

4 thoughts on “The Lunch Time Rush”

    1. There are those who know me that will recognize my routine and assume that this is a true story… it isn’t.. mostly… maybe. I’ll never tell… (in my best Brittany Murphy impersonation)

      Like

Leave a Reply

