Luck and Hope…

Luck takes away hope

Leading many to place their faith

In nothing but chance.

****

Luck is the mistress

Whose jealousy doesn’t leave

Room for lots of hope.

****

RW Haiku Challenge

Published by

R. Todd

I'm older than I think I am and younger than I feel. I'm stuck in the 80's but relevant to today (oh I hope that last part is true). I think I am more of an enigma than I really am, but somehow still confound those who try to figure me out (or they just look at me weird, so I infer that). And I really hate my first name. Husband, father, Navy Vet, cat owner (translate.. slave), wannabe writer, and all around big kid who is stuck in an adult world. Overall, I just... um.. something to something, blah blah blah. And that's all I got to say about that.

6 thoughts on “Luck and Hope…”

  1. I liked your Haiku b/c you approached the words in a unique way but I must say I am not agreeing with your conclusions.

    Luck is having things happen which one doesn’t expect. Hope is believing in and wanting the best in everything for everyone. Why such a negative approach to Luck? I wondered why? Not expecting an answer. Just my reaction. jk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought about that for a bit, struggled with “is there a difference”, and finally rested on this thought. Hope is something deeply held, and while some hope in luck, you don’t luck in hope. Hope is a belief, it brings so much with it. Luck is more like happenstance. I don’t know, beyond the surface I just think they are fundamentally different. Granted, I don’t think luck goes much further beyond the surface, so, there’s that. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good points. Hope carries with it a feeling of possibility. Luck is an unknown. I consider serendipity to have the touch of luck attached to it, but find it is more allowing fate and destiny to take part in the possibilities of the future. Does luck have depth? Maybe in some hearts it might. Hope does feel like it goes deeper. Do I believe in Luck? I would like to, but maybe it is more fantasy than reality. If Luck does happens, does it then become real or is luck just luck when it feels like performing as the trickster? The Temptress. All a mental struggle to try to solve this one.

        When Clint Eastwood as Harry in Dirty Harry is pointing his gun at a murderer, making him wonder if there are still bullets in his *45 Magnum, and says, “Do you feel lucky today?” Is this not more chance than luck? Or are they the same? A debate with infinite possibilities. Enjoyed. jk 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

