Last Words…

 

The last words he ever did speak,

Will live with me the rest of mine,

Spoken in tones so very weak.

The last words he ever did speak,

Though said in a moment so bleak,

Have become for me my lifeline.

The last words he ever did speak

Will live with me the rest of mine.

Jane’s Poetry Challenge 16

A triolet is:
Eight line stanza.
Eight beats to the line, or nine/seven if it sounds better.
The first line is the refrain and is repeated as the fourth and the seventh line.
The second line is repeated as the eighth line so the first and last couplets are the same.
The rhyme scheme is ABaAabAB. The capitals denote repeated lines.
Published by

R. Todd

I'm older than I think I am and younger than I feel. I'm stuck in the 80's but relevant to today (oh I hope that last part is true). I think I am more of an enigma than I really am, but somehow still confound those who try to figure me out (or they just look at me weird, so I infer that). And I really hate my first name. Husband, father, Navy Vet, cat owner (translate.. slave), wannabe writer, and all around big kid who is stuck in an adult world. Overall, I just... um.. something to something, blah blah blah. And that's all I got to say about that.

One thought on “Last Words…”

Leave a Reply

