The Road Trip…

“Mom! Mom! Look! That dinosaur just moved.” Billy pointed from his car seat in the back of the minivan at the U-Haul truck next to them.

“It’s not the dinosaur. It’s the truck, honey,” his mother said. She didn’t even turn to look this time, lost in her own little world, the tingling of a headache starting. “Just watch the movie. Ok, Billy?”

Billy’s voice got a bit quieter as he continued to watch the truck , waiting for it to move again. “But… mom…”

“Please, Billy. Just watch the movie. I need some peace. Just five minutes. Okay?”

“Okay, mom.” Billy never took his eyes off the dinosaur as it passed them on the left. Just before he lost sight of it, he could swear it licked its lips with a long red tongue.

Billy’s eyes got wide. “Mom?”

FFaFW #66

Photo by Yinglan

img_3971

Published by

R. Todd

I'm older than I think I am and younger than I feel. I'm stuck in the 80's but relevant to today (oh I hope that last part is true). I think I am more of an enigma than I really am, but somehow still confound those who try to figure me out (or they just look at me weird, so I infer that). And I really hate my first name. Husband, father, Navy Vet, cat owner (translate.. slave), wannabe writer, and all around big kid who is stuck in an adult world. Overall, I just... um.. something to something, blah blah blah. And that's all I got to say about that.

15 thoughts on “The Road Trip…”

  1. Hahaha! The dinosaur really was alive and moving! If only his mother would listen! This is a cute story. I really enjoyed reading it. I have noticed you haven’t linked up your story to the board yet, do you need any help?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saw that Dino on the truck, and recalled the times as a kid my imagination would run away with me. It could be interesting to see it taken a bit further.

      Like

Leave a Reply

