That Changes Everything…

What follows is an assignment I had to do for my creative writing class that I am currently taking (which is also taking up a lot of my time, hence my absence). I was required to use the prompt, "that changes everything". Hope you enjoy.

Charlie set his cup down on the food court table and took a seat across from Lucy. “Why is it so hard?” He never stopped looking at the pretty blonde behind the counter.

“Because you’re a wimp.”
“Thanks, that’s helpful.”
“Well, then just go ask her out.”
“Yeah, and make a fool of myself.” He grimaced. “Is that what you want? To watch me crash and burn. Bet you would get a good laugh from that.”
“You found me out. I’m just all about embarrassing you.”
“With friends like you…”
Lucy smiled. “So what if you embarrass yourself. Girls like that.”
“No, girls like guys like Steve. The cool guy with the right clothes, the right car, and the right looks. How is a guy like me supposed to compete with that?”
“Don’t.”
“What?”
“Don’t compete.”
“So, stay single. Yeah, that seems about right.”
“That’s not what I’m saying at all.”
Charlie tilted his head and looked at Lucy. “Then, what exactly are you saying?”
“Find someone else.”
“That’s your revelation?” Charlie threw his hands up and his head back. “Well, that changes everything. My life is complete.”
“What about asking me?”
“Wha…? Ask you out?” His laugh was louder than he realized. “Lucy, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to… I mean… I…” He let out a long sigh. “Sorry.”
“Am I so bad a choice?”
“No! No. No… I just… You’re my best friend. I’ve never even considered.”
“Never?”
“Well.” He smiled. “At least not today.”

Published by

R. Todd

I'm older than I think I am and younger than I feel. I'm stuck in the 80's but relevant to today (oh I hope that last part is true). I think I am more of an enigma than I really am, but somehow still confound those who try to figure me out (or they just look at me weird, so I infer that). And I really hate my first name. Husband, father, Navy Vet, cat owner (translate.. slave), wannabe writer, and all around big kid who is stuck in an adult world. Overall, I just... um.. something to something, blah blah blah. And that's all I got to say about that.

10 thoughts on “That Changes Everything…”

  1. Interesting. I wasn’t thinking from her point of view (because… well, I wasn’t, don’t judge ;D ), but from her perspective, I think she has been the supportive friend with a crush who herself was too afraid to act because he never showed an interest in her. Apparently she got tired of waiting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

